Homepage > Football > FOOTBALL > All Football Books > HISTORY > Bury FC Who's Who 1893-1954

Bury FC Who's Who 1893-1954

Bury FC Who's Who 1893-1954

Ref No: 9781905891931

Details: Author: Garth Dykes

Type: Books

Price: £15.00

Of the 49 League seasons covered by this book, Bury spent 22 of them in the top flight, with a best finish of fourth place in 1925-26. They won the Second division championship in their first season, 1894-95. Their two FA Cup victories came in 1900 and 1903, one of them with a 6-0 win that remains a record for the Cup Final to this day.

The author, Garth Dykes, has followed the club’s fortunes since visits to Gigg Lane in the late 1940s. Although at first planning to end the book with the last pre-war season, Garth was particularly keen to include the men he saw in action, hence the change to include the seasons up to 1953-54. The book examines the playing careers of all the men who played for the club up to this point, and includes a detailed account of their time at Bury and elsewhere. Research for the book has found new details of birth dates and junior clubs played for. The book is illustrated with over 200 player photographs, some of which have not been published before.

Advanced Search

Back Page Away Day Travel